The Secret Millionaire helps an inspiring disability support centre

In the first of a new series of The Secret Millionaire, travel website entrepreneur Chris Brown is moved to help Talbot House, a centre offering support to parents of children with disabilities. In case you haven’t seen The Secret Millionaire before, the show involves a millionaire, funnily enough, going undercover in deprived areas looking for people and organisations that would benefit from their financial help. After shadowing Bernadette Wood, General Manager of Talbot House, her enthusiasm and good work encourages Chris to give a helping hand in the form of £25,000.

Talbot House - The Secret Millionaire - image - inspiremagazineuk.wordpress.com

Having come to Talbot House herself when her son was born with Down’s syndrome, Bernadette knows how vital support is when learning to accept a disability. Talking about her son Jeffrey she enthuses; “He is my life, he’s my every waking moment, and my every sleep, I absolutely adore him, I learn from him, I love him. He’s bought joy, laughter, kindness, he’s bought all the good qualities of a person into our home… do I get down, yeh, do the down days come, yeh, do I blame God, yeh, do I swear, and I don’t normally swear, but I swear on those days. But it’s through him that I’m this person who I am today… and now I like to show people that there is a way through, there’s life after disability, it is not the end of the world.” There are a lot of people out there that I hope read this and take heed of the heartfelt sentiment.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

October 20, 2010. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , . Entertainment.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

